To understand and appreciate the history of Hudson Lodge #510, one needs to know that
Freemasonry had roots in Hudson long before 510 was chartered. Hudson Lodge #510, F. & A. M.
is the succesor of Hudson Lodge #68, and occupies a unique position in Hudson as well as in Ohio
In the early 1820's, a number of Freemasons had emigrated from the New England states and taken
up residence in the Hudson vicinity. They applied to the Grand Lodge of Ohio for a Charter to
establish a Lodge in Hudson, Ohio. A dispensation was granted April 6, 1822, to Brothers Rial
McArthur as W. M.; Gideon Mills, S. W., and Augustus Baldwin, J. W., to organize Hudson Lodge
Under Dispensation, at Hudson, and at the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge in 1823, on
January 14th, a charter was voted to Hudson Lodge No.68, which was issued on January 16, 1824.
The first elected officers of Hudson Lodge #68 were: Gideon Mills, W. M.; Sherman Peck, S. W.;
Asaha Kilbourne, J. W.; Judge Van R. Humphrey, Treas.; Benjamin Whedon, S. D.; Harvey Baldwin,
J. D.; Harmon Peck, Tyler. It met in the home of David Hudson, from whom the Village of Hudson
got its name. David Hudson was initiated on March 9,1824, and raised on June 15, 1824. The first
Lodge rooms were over a store owned by the Baldwin brothers, and later occupied by Brother
Charles H. Buss.
The Lodge raised John Brown, of historical fame, as a Master Mason on May 11,1824. He served as
Junior Deacon in 1825-1826. Shortly after 1826, as the anti-Masonic movement gained strength,
John Brown renounced Freemasonry, as did a number of Brethren in response to mounting
negative public sentiment against Freemasons resulting from the Morgan Affair. Ironically, his
uncle was the first Master of Hudson Lodge #68.
The Lodge laid the cornerstone for the first building of Western Reserve College, now Western
Reserve Academy, on April 26, 1826. This was due, in large part, to the fact that a number of
Masons had been appointed trustees of the College. Augustus Baldwin, Past Master of Hudson
Lodge, representing the Most Worshipful Brother Samuel Wheeler, presided. The laying of this
cornerstone was the first Masonic ceremony of this nature held in the Western Reserve, and
members of the craft from all of the surrounding area assembled at Hudson to have a part therein.
In 1827, Hudson Lodge #68 was represented in Grand Lodge, but not thereafter.
In 1830, bowing to public pressure, David Hudson renounced Freemasonry.
In 1831, when the anti-Masonic movement was at its height, the Lodge room was moved to the third
story of Brother Harvey Baldwin's residence, which was located just north of the Village. Hudson
Lodge #68 was published in the list of delinquent lodges because of its lack of attendance at the
annual Grand Lodge meetings. For the next several years, the Lodge struggled for existence
against society's most bitter opposition to Masonry, until 1840, when it gave up its Jewels and
Charter to the Grand Lodge of Ohio. Its existence was brief, and its number is still vacant.
(Interestingly, the Jewels of Hudson Lodge #68 were loaned to King Solomon Lodge in Perfection
#83 when it was chartered on October 21, 1841. In 1852, this Lodge became Akron Lodge #83.)
On January 8, 1855, a group of Masons headed by B. Fairchild, wrote a letter to the Grand Lodge of
Ohio with a petition for a new lodge. This letter came to light in the archives of Star Lodge No. 83
who presented this letter to Hudson Lodge. No other information is available.
For three decades, Hudson was without a Masonic lodge.
Then, on November 25, 1874 the Grand Master of Masons in Ohio, M. W. Brother Asa Battin, in
response to a petition by twenty-four Master Masons, granted a Letter of Dispensation authorizing
the petitioners to meet as a legal lodge. By appointment of the Grand Master, Brother Lewis Lemoin
became the first Worshipful Master of Hudson Lodge #510, with Brothers James K. Frost and S.E.
Judd serving as Senior and Junior Wardens, respectively. The charter members were:
Beebe, D.C. Cook, Orson Hopkins, C. W. Post, E.
Bosworth, R. Crawford, S.S. Judd, S. E. Ranney, Moses
Bouton, Chas. Darrow, Wm. Krochle, W. Shields, A. J.
Buss, C. H. Ditty, James Lemoin, Lewis Shields, A. G.
Buss, Geo. Farrer, C. W. Niebel, Jacob Shively, A. J.
Cook, J. H. Frost, J. K. O'Brien, J. H. Tyson, R. J.
The first recorded meeting was held on January 9, 1875, when Hudson Lodge #510 was organized,
and the officers were installed by Past Master J. G. Richardson of Unity Lodge #12. The site of this
meeting was at the corner of East Main and Division Streets, known as the Lockert Building, where
Dr. Charles Hammel, a dentist, had his offices. The rent for the lodge room was $60 per year.
The Lodge met "on Monday on or first before the full of the Moon in each month." The annual dues
were $3.00, and the fee for conferring the degrees was $30. The first candidate raised to the Degree
of Master Mason in Hudson Lodge #510 was T. K. Peck, on May 17, 1875. In attendance were 17
members and 20 visitors.
A formal Charter was issued to Hudson Lodge #510 on October 18, 1876, and the Lodge was
regularly constituted on October 31, 1876. W. B. Lewis Lemoin was also the first elected Master of
Hudson Lodge #510.
On June 27, 1883, Hudson Lodge held an ice cream and strawberry festival. Their net earnings for
the event were $23.68. Was this the beginning of the Hudson Ice Cream Social?
The term "Master" is synonymous with "President," and usually the Master serves one or two
years. However, the title of the "Longest continuously serving Master is held by Brother W. M.
Tyson, who served as Master five consecutive years, 1885 -1889.
In 1893, the Lodge moved across the green on Main Street to the building that was later occupied
by Gott Hardware. Then in 1914, the Lodge moved again to the Ellsworth building, above Saywell's
Drug Store, now known as Hattie's. Lodge records show that the Campbell Block, once occupied
by Dodds and Krogers, could have been bought for $3,000. The same property was considered
again in May, 1917, but, by then, the price had gone up to $10,000, and it was recommended that
the Lodge do nothing rash in the matter of buying a building.
During this period, the Masonic Funeral Services were conducted in the following manner: The
Brethren would assemble at the Lodge, and open Lodge. They would then form a procession to the
Brother's home, and then to the cemetery. After the ceremony, the Brethren returned to the Lodge,
and closed Lodge.
In 1891, Hudson Lodge #510 had 44 members in good standing.
May 2, 1892: The Lodge received an edict from the Grand Master: "...that every visitor swear to an
oath ..." which sounds very much like our present Test Oath.
February 6, 1893: A committee was appointed to find a new hall for the Lodge. On September 4,
1893, the committee reported that they had secured a hall from Wm. Bullock for a term of ten years
for $100 per year. Three months later, on December 4, 1893, the Lodge moved across the green to
the second floor of 126 North Main Street, when the new hall was dedicated by District Lecturer,
Bro. C. C. Bates.
June 4, 1894: A motion was passed that there will be no more smoking in the Lodge room! This
was nearly 100 years before major smoking bans were implemented in the United States.
December 27, 1894: The Lodge paid $3 for a ton of coal to heat the Lodge room.
February 18, 1895: Hudson Lodge put on the Entered Apprentice Degree for District Lecturer, Bro.
C. C. Bates. Sounds like an official inspection; maybe the first one. The Lodge gave Bro. Bates $2
June 6, 1898: Bro. J. Doncaster presented the Lodge with a full set of officer's jewels. Given their
cost, then and now, this was a gesture of extreme generosity.
October 2, 1899: Two brethren were reimbursed as follows: 55 cents for telephoning, and 65 cents
for telegraphing. Both of these technologies represented high-tech communication at the time.
The 1900's was a time of tremendous growth and change in the US and in Hudson as well. In 1901,
William McKinley was elected president, but was assassinated later that year by an anarchist
(terrorist). He was succeeded by Theodore Roosevelt, who would occupy the White House until
1909. Both presidents were Freemasons.
Hudson Lodge was continuing to flourish. During the early years of Hudson Lodge No. 510, many
installations of officers took place late in December, on or near St. John's night, which is December
27. Also during this period, frequent requests were received for waiver of jurisdiction. They were
usually approved on the condition that Hudson Lodge received the initiation fees, or half of the
Here are some notable and interesting facts from the early 1900's as they pertain to Hudson Lodge
1900 - 1909
December 17, 1900: First mention of a Past Master's jewel. This is a highly ornamental jewel,
generally made of gold, which Past Masters wear to meetings to identify their status. The first one
appears to have been made for Worshipful Brother J. A. Jacobs. The Lodge got one for him in three
September 24, 1901: The Lodge held a memorial service for assassinated President Wm. McKinley
in Christ Church (Episcopal) in Hudson, Ohio. Because President McKinley was originally from
Ohio, his name is memorialized by William McKinley Lodge No.431 in Canton, Ohio.
February 6, 1905: First time the phrase "Annual Inspection" is used in the minutes of the Lodge.
The District Lecturer was Bro. Hagelberger.
May 7, 1906: The Grand Master requested aid for the Brethren in California as a result of the San
Francisco earthquake and fire which occurred on April 18, 1906. This is another example of the
universal tenants of Freemasonry, which are brotherly love, relief, and truth.
February 17, 1908: First time the title "Right Worshipful" is used in the minutes of Hudson Lodge
No. 510 to refer to a District Deputy Grand Master. It should be noted that the term "Worshipful" is
not an indication of deification or worship of the man or the position. The term originated in ancient
English Lodges and means "worthy of respect." The organization of lodges is done on a
state-by-state basis. Each state is led by a Grand Master ("Most Worshipful"), who is elected
annually. The Grand Master is then represented by District Deputy Grand Masters who are
appointed by the Grand Master for three-year terms. Today, there are 25 Masonic Districts in Ohio,
and approximately 65-75 District Deputy Grand Masters managing those districts in any given year.
April 20, 1908: Brethren from Aurora, Ohio asked Hudson Lodge for consent to establish a lodge. It
was approved by the Hudson Brethren.
April 5, 1909: Adoniram Lodge No. 517 invited Hudson Lodge to their annual inspection. This was a
first such invitation.
November 15, 1909: Bro. A. B. Howard presented the Lodge with an encyclopedia on Freemasonry.
1911 was the first year that Hudson Lodge did not hold meetings during the months of July and
August. This began an annual practice of "going dark," which involved not meeting formally during
the summer months.
May 5, 1913: A committee was appointed to investigate the cost of installing a telephone, and the
feasibility of having the lodge wired for electric lights. On June 2, the committee reported that the
landlord would wire the lodge room, but the Lodge would have to supply the fixtures.
October 6, 1913: A committee was appointed to find proper quarters for the Lodge.
January 19, 1914: The search committee reported that the Campbell block could be purchased for
$3,000 or the Meade property for $3,300. The committee was advised that they should continue the
search, probably because of the expense. The estimated conversion into 2012 dollars is between
$80,000 and $120,000.
April 1, 1914: The search committee recommended that the Lodge be moved to a new building,
erected by Mr. J. Ellsworth, on Main Street.
October 5, 1914: Hudson Lodge signed a contract with the Cleveland Reserve Company (J. W.
Ellsworth's company) for the lease of a new Lodge room, and sometime between October 5 and
November 17, Hudson Lodge moved into a new Lodge room on the third floor above what was
Saywell's Drug store. The steps were long and steep.
November 17, 1914: The new Lodge room was dedicated by Brother H. M. Hagelberger,
representing the Grand Master. A banquet followed.
December 21, 1914: The Lodge decided to have a telephone installed at a cost of $0.75 per month.
January 18, 1915: The Lodge discussed sharing expenses with Eastern Star Chapter #377.
March 1, 1915: The Lodge approved the purchase of a bell on the outside door as a warning to the
October 18, 1915: The Lodge made a one-time payment of $7 for a piano purchased by the Eastern
April 3, 1916: A committee was appointed for electrically lighting the three lesser lights at the Altar.
May 15, 1916: The Lodge received its first robes used in degree conferral, a gift from Woodward
Lodge #508, Cleveland, Ohio.
March 26, 1917: The District Lecturer warned the Lodge about verifying visitors, due to the number
of spurious lodges in existence.
May 7, 1917: A committee was appointed to investigate the possibility of buying a building for the
May 21, 1917: The Temple Committee reported that the Campbell Block is now priced at $10,000
(valued between $190,000 and $250,000 in 2012 dollars). The Hudson Lodge Ways and Means
(Fundraising) Committee advised the Lodge "to do nothing rash."
June 30, 1917: Hudson Lodge raised five (5) candidates to the Sublime Degree of Master Mason.
Present were 38 members and 40 visitors.
October 15, 1917: Hudson Lodge bought a $200 Liberty Bond. These bonds were sold in the
United States to support the allied cause during World War I, also called The Great War, which was
fought in Europe from July 28, 1914 until November 11, 1918.
November 5, 1917: Grand Master Hagelberger requested a 25 cent per capita assessment from all
lodges for the purpose of erecting a Masonic building in Chillicothee, near Camp Sherman.
November 3, 1919: The Lodge voted to remit the dues for all members in the military.
During this decade, membership in Hudson Lodge #510 increased from 58 to 94.
The decade of the 1920s is often characterized as a period of American prosperity and optimism. It
was the "Roaring Twenties," the decade of bath tub gin, the model T, the $5 work day, the first
transatlantic flight and the motion picture. It is often seen as a period of great advance as the nation
became urban and commercial. Calvin Coolidge declared that America's business was business.
Overall, the decade is often seen as a period of great contradiction: of rising optimism and
increasing cynicism, of increasing and decreasing faith, of great hope and great despair.
During this decade, Hudson Lodge experienced a strong growth in membership, 66%, and made
many efforts to acquire a new "home."
February, 1920: The Lodge purchased a Victrola for the Lodge room at a cost of $150.00.
April 15, 1920: The secretary was instructed to purchase twelve torches for the Craft.
June 11, 1920: Hudson Lodge was visited by M. W. Bro. Matthew Smith.
August 2, 1920: Hudson Lodge adopted new By-Laws, and raised the annual dues to $5.00.
February 2, 1921: Another committee was appointed to find "suitable quarters for the Lodge."
In early February, 1921, the sitting Worshipful Master, C. R. Sanford died unexpectedly.
February 6, 1922: A committee was appointed to obtain slides for the Entered Apprentice and
Fellow Craft degrees. The slides were purchased May 1, 1922.
June 4, 1923: The Lodge adopted a resolution to have the Worshipful Master appoint a
"permanent" committee for investigating candidates.
September 17, 1923: The official notice of the death of President Harding was read in Lodge.
February 4, 1924: The Worshipful Master reported on a meeting he had with J. W. Ellsworth, who
offered to sell the building the Lodge was in (over Saywell's Drug Store) for $27,500. No action was
October 20, 1924: The Lodge voted to contribute $25 to the Lorain Relief Fund.
December 1, 1924: Bro. Griffith, from Australia, was a visitor to Hudson Lodge.
February 2, 1925: Another committee was formed to search for a new lodge room. The committee
discussed with Mr. Albrect the possibility of leasing the second floor of his building, which in 1981
was occupied by the Cookery.
December 21, 1925: This was the first time that a candidate in Hudson Lodge received a copy of the
Bible after being raised to the Sublime Degree of Master Mason. This was the direct result of the
116th Annual Grand Lodge Communication of the Grand Lodge of Ohio where M. W. Grand Master
Brother Earle Stewart made such a recommendation (edict).
May 3, 1926: The Brethren discussed the possibility of purchasing the Tibbits property (now the
Johnson-Romito Funeral Home) for a Masonic Temple. No action was taken.
November 15, 1926: This is the first time in the minutes of the Lodge, that a Past Master's night is
April 4, 1927: Summit Lodge #213 invited Hudson Lodge to their dedication ceremony on April 7,
June 27, 1927: Hudson Lodge had 130 members and visitors present for the conferral of the Master
April 1, 1929: A committee was appointed to investigate the Buss Company property (now the
Hudson Square Building) as a prospective site for the Masonic Temple.
June 17, 1929: A committee was appointed to investigate the renting of three rooms on the second
floor of the Ellsworth Building (the Lodge occupied the third floor over Saywell's).
During this decade, Hudson Lodge membership increased from 94 to 156.
During the second week of January, 1931, the Masonic Temple Corporation of Hudson Lodge #510
was granted a charter by the Secretary of State, Clarence J. Brown. The corporation was formed for
the purpose of obtaining a building for the Lodge. The plan was to issue stock in the amount of
$35,000 for the the purchase or erection of a suitable lodge building. Another meeting was held the
following week with the Order of Eastern Star joining the project. It was announced that $5,000
worth of stock had been sold already. This initiative, however, did not bear fruit.
February 16, 1931: Hudson Lodge donated $20 to the Red Cross Drought Relief Fund.
March 9, 1931: There were 80 brethren in attendance for the annual inspection.
May 4, 1931: Dr. Zook, President of the University of Akron, addressed the members of the Lodge
on "Relations of the Federal Government to Education." Dr. Zook was not a Mason.
July 29, 1931: Hudson Lodge participated in a regional Masonic picnic held at Brady Lake.
March 10, 1932: At the annual inspection of Hudson Lodge, the inspecting officer suggested that
Hudson Lodge contribute $1.00 per member to the George Washington Memorial.
January 16, 1933: The Grand Master suggested that each lodge form a committees known as the
"Brotherly Love Committee," and the "Lodge System of Masonic Information." Done.
February 20, 1933: The Grand Master suggested that the sum of $150 be transferred to the
"Brotherly Love Committee" in order to help distressed brethren. Done.
March 20, 1933: The Lodge received a communication from the Grand Master that all suspensions
for non-payment of dues be cancelled.
May 15, 1933: The Goodrich Degree Team visited Hudson Lodge and raised Bro. Fox to the
Sublime Degree of Master Mason.
July 17, 1933: Brotherly Love Funds were used to pay all dues in arears.
March 21, 1934: Hudson Lodge inspection was attended by 40 members and 70 visitors.
Seventy-six attended the dinner at the Congregational Church.
October 15, 1934: Another building committee was appointed.
January 7, 1935: A proposed set of By-Laws were read. Craftsman Park requested 50 cents per
January 21, 1935: The new By-Laws were adopted. The secretary will be paid $50 annually.
February 18, 1935: The Master appointed a committee to get pictures of all Past Masters and have
May 1, 1935: The District inspecting officer declared Hudson Lodge inspection, "One of the best in
November 18, 1935: An audit report indicated that $90 was paid from the Brotherly Love Fund for
members' dues -- 18 brethren benefited.
December 16, 1935: The Grand Master directed all lodges to form a "Good Will Committee" to
personally interview all members who had been suspended for non-payment of dues.
February 3, 1936: Hudson Lodge adopted the following article to its By-Laws: "Indefinitely
suspended for non-payment of dues" shall be entered on the record of each member whose dues
have not been paid by the last stated meeting in July, and if he has not reinstated himself within five
years of the entry of such record, his name shall be stricken from the roll of the Lodge. This had the
blessing of the Grand Master.
April 1938: The Hudson Masonic Club was formed.
July 18, 1938: A communication was received from the Masters and Wardens asking the Lodge for
a contribution to support Craftsman's Park.
December 19, 1938: The committee that was working to assemble the pictures of all Past Masters
reported that their task was completed. The committee was discharged with thanks and
May 15, 1939: It was announced that Bro. Fred Moury would speak on the subject of marijuana at
the June 19th meeting. Summit Lodge from Twinsburg was invited.
Although the 1930's was a difficult decade economically, membership in Hudson Lodge was very
stable. The Lodge began the decade with 155 members, and ended the decade with the same
August 1, 1940: Hudson Lodge had 152 members in good standing.
February 27, 1941: R.W.D.D. Carl F. Spanagel admonished the Lodge "to be faithful to our
August 1, 1941: Hudson Lodge had 157 members in good standing.
October 20, 1941: Bro. Rev. Longworth of Summit Lodge in Twinsburg addressed the Lodge on
August 1, 1942: Hudson Lodge had 159 members in good standing.
November 2, 1942: Hudson Lodge voted to purchase Defense Bonds.
April 19, 1943: The Lodge voted to purchase more War Bonds.
August 1, 1943: Hudson Lodge had 155 members in good standing.
September 20, 1943: The Lodge authorized the purchase of $100 War Bonds.
October 18, 1943: The Lodge increased the annual dues by $1.00; the increase was earmarked for
the Ohio Masonic Home Endowment Fund.
January 3, 1944: The By-Laws of Hudson Lodge were amended to provide for one vote for
conferring the three degrees by a directive from the Grand Lodge.
January 17, 1944: A decision of the Grand Master was read: Waiver of Jurisdiction was
discontinued by an amendment enacted by the Grand Lodge on October 22, 1943. In another
communication, the Grand Master stated that: Neither the Lodge or the Grand Master has any
power to authorize the conferring of the three degrees of Masonry in less time than that prescribed
by the Code.
February 7, 1944: The Lodge voted to purchase three $100 War Bonds.
March 13, 1944: Hudson Lodge initiated three candidates in the Entered Apprentice Degree.
March 20, 1944: A communication from Grand Master, M. W. Bro. Alpheus A. Stephens was read on
the subject of time limits of conferring the three degrees. In short, "Thus it will be observed that a
stated meeting must intervene between the conferring of each degree."
May 8, 1944: Hudson Lodge conferred the Entered Apprentice Degree on four new members.
June 26, 1944: Hudson Lodge initiated four candidates in the Entered Apprentice Degree, with
three different Brothers sitting in the East.
July 3, 1944: Hudson Lodge adopted the policy of remitting the dues for all fifty year Masons. The
Lodge bought another War Bond for $500.
July 31, 1944: Hudson Lodge had 168 members in good standing. During the past year, the Lodge
had raised twelve Brothers to the Sublime Degree of Master Mason.
October 2, 1944: The Grand Master requested that all lodges read the Holy Scriptures for five
minutes at all October meetings. The War Service Committee announced that it will resume the
letter writing to our members in the Armed Services. Three more candidates received the Entered
October 9, 1944: Three Brothers were raised to the Sublime Degree of Master Mason by the
associates from Jack & Heinty Company of Cleveland, OH.
October 16, 1944: It was reported that Christmas boxes had been sent to all of our members in the
October 30, 1944: Bro. R.S. Kidd from St. Peter's Lodge #331 of Scotland witnessed the raising of
November 20, 1944: Three more candidates were initiated.
February 19, 1945: Past Grand Master, M. W. Bro. Alpheus A. Stephens, addressed the Lodge and
the 18 "new members" of Hudson Lodge. M. W. Bro. Stephens was given honorary membership for
life in Hudson Lodge #510.
April 2, 1945: The Lodge voted to purchase new robes for the Master Mason degree, and 18 Past
April 16, 1945: Twenty-nine members of Hudson Lodge received their 25-year pins.
July 31, 1945: Hudson Lodge had 184 members in good standing. Total membership in the State
September 13, 1945: No part of any degree work shall be conferred upon more than one candidate
at the same time -- M. W. Bro. David Sharp.
November 12, 1945: Bro. Grant Blackburn who had served as Tyler for 22 years, and was elected
for his 23rd, died before installation.
December 17, 1945: W. M. F. H. Wood announced that hereafter, immediately following the opening
of the Lodge, the Pledge of Allegiance would be given to the flag of the United States of America.
June 3, 1946: W. B. Barlow reported on the Craftsman' Park Project, and recommended a
committee be appointed to assist in the Purchase Fund Campaign.
July 31, 1946: Hudson Lodge had 194 members in good standing. Total membership in Ohio was
October 21, 1946: A dinner was served at the Christian Church, prior to the meeting, honoring the
fifteen brothers of Hudson Lodge who served in WWII. Another committee was appointed to
promote plans for a new lodge hall.
In 1946, the Lodge received a generous bequest from the estate of Vincent Meakin, who left the
building fund one-third of his estate. With this amount to give the fund impetus, additional
contributions soon made the purchase of the present Masonic Temple possible.
January 6, 1947: Temple committee reported that nothing is available for lease or purchase. It
recommended that the Lodge have a financial campaign to raise $20,000 over the next three years
for purchase or to build a suitable temple.
April 21, 1947: The Lodge voted to proceed with a financial campaign.
July 21, 1947: So far, 71 contributors to the Temple Fund had pledged $9,075.
July 31, 1947: Hudson Lodge had 208 members in good standing.
During 1947, Hudson Lodge held 32 meetings.
January 1948: Craftsman's Recreation Club was reorganized as Craftsman's Park. Hudson Lodge
sent periodic financial support.
February 16, 1948: The Grand Master made an appeal to all lodges for a donation of $10 to
assemble CARE packages of food for Masons in Europe who were still suffering in the aftermath of
WWII. Hudson Lodge donated $10.
February 23, 1948: Hudson's Annual Inspection had 123 Masons in attendance.
April 19, 1948: Hudson Lodge appointed a representative to Hudson Community Service
Association, and sent a $10 donation.
July 31, 1948: Hudson Lodge had 214 members in good standing.
November 17, 1948: Masonic Funeral Service was held for W. B. James Dwyer; 86 Masons were in
February 7, 1949: Hudson Lodge voted against eliminating territorial jurisdiction as proposed by
Summit County Masters and Wardens Association.
February 28, 1949: For Hudson's annual inspection, 115 Masons from 30 lodges were in
July 31, 1949: Hudson Lodge had 219 members in good standing.
January 30, 1950: Hudson Lodge inspection had 132 Masons in attendance.
July 31, 1950: Hudson Lodge had 216 members in good standing.
In March, 1951, Brother Weldon W. Case, Chairman of the Temple Corporation, and W. B. Franklin
S. Barlow, Master of the Lodge, announced the acquisition of the Hudson Board of Education bus
garage for $10,025. A committee from the Temple Corporation consisting of H. C. Barlow, John
Archer, E. J. von der Heide, and S. Y. Symns worked on plans to remodel the building and convert it
into a Masonic Temple. One unique feature of the building was going to be a radiant heating system
in the concrete floor. Some of the remodeling was hampered by government building restrictions
because of the Korean War.
July 2, 1951: M.W. Bro. James J. Harbage was given honorary membership in Hudson Lodge.
July 31, 1951: Hudson Lodge had 218 members in good standing.
October 12, 1951: Fortunately, enough of the remodeling had been completed to the new Temple
for Hudson Lodge to celebrate its 75th anniversary there. The celebration was attended by 228
Masons, including the Grand Master, M. W. Bro. James J. Harbage, two Past Grand Masters, four
Grand Lodge officers, and the District Deputy Grand Master. The Grand Lodge Historian, W. B.
James J. Tyler, gave a historical talk on David Hudson and Hudson's original Lodge #68. (See Vol.
VIII) He commented that if it had not been for an event that occurred in Batavia, NY in 1826, Hudson
Lodge would be celebrating its 127th instead of its 75th anniversary as Lodge #68 instead of #510.
This may have been the biggest celebration in the history of Hudson Lodge.
March 3, 1952: Hudson Lodge #510 held its first regular meeting in the new, and our present,
Temple. Present were 44 members and 33 visitors! All the remodeling work was done by members
of the Lodge, at a cost of $12,000. The work was completed just in time for the annual inspection
which was March 10, 1952; District Deputy, R.W.B. Eugene F. Edgerly, was the inspecting officer.
May 16, 1952: A special meeting was held to dedicate the new Temple. In attendance were 172
Masons representing 34 lodges, 4 from out of state. The ceremony was conducted by M. W. Bro.
James J. Harbage, P. G. M. of Ohio who was delegated to represent the Grand Master, M. W. Bro.
Judd, who could not attend. Besides M. W. Bro. Harbage, there were 15 other Grand Lodge officers
and Past Grand Lodge officers present. The dedication ceremonies were carried out in due and
ancient form by the pouring of corn, wine, and oil.
May 26, 1952: The first meeting to take place following the dedication of Hudson #510 Temple was
for the purpose of conferring a Master Mason degree. The Masters and Wardens of all Summit
County Lodges were present to do the work. The District Deputy Grand Master commented that
this was the first time in history of the 21st District that such a meeting had been held. There were
142 Master Masons in attendance.
June 16, 1952: The Lodge approved raising the dues to $10.00.
July 31, 1952: Hudson Lodge had 224 members in good standing.
October 6, 1952: Two busloads of Masons, totaling 60, along with their robes and candidate,
arrived from Lakewood, Ohio, Clifton Lodge #664. Candidate Edmond Harrop was raised to the
Sublime Degree of Master Mason. Present were 33 members of Hudson Lodge, and 81 visitors for a
total of 114.
January 5, 1953: The Lodge discussed the advisability of getting the original number, 68, back for
March 9, 1953: Hudson Lodge annual inspection was attended by 58 members and 102 visitors for
a total of 160. W. B. Franklin Barlow was presented the Grand Lodge Certificate of Merit by the
District Deputy Grand Master, R. W. Eugene Edgerly.
May 18, 1953: The Lodge voted to contribute $0.15 per capita to Craftsmen's Park for their
June 15, 1953: The Lodge voted unanimously "NO" for concurrent jurisdiction of all Summit
July 31, 1953: Hudson Lodge had 228 members in good standing.
December 21, 1953: A communication from Grand Lodge admonished the brethren from
participating in "chain letters."
January 18, 1954: The Lodge voted to contribute $0.15 per member to Craftsmen's Park.
February 22, 1954: The attendance at Hudson's inspection was impressive -- 60 members, and 119
visitors for a total of 179.
July 31, 1954: Hudson Lodge had 236 members in good standing.
September 20, 1954: A communication from Grand Lodge, dated 7/8/54, was read instructing all
brethren to use the "new" pledge of allegiance to the flag which includes the words "Under God."
January 17, 1955: The Lodge voted to send $0.15 per capita to Craftsmens Recreation Club.
February 28, 1955: The annual inspection of Hudson Lodge was in the Entered Apprentice Degree.
Present were 12 officers, 48 members, and 124 visitors. Some of the visitors were from out of state
-- Arizona, Connecticut, Indiana, Massachusetts, Missouri, Pennsylvania, and Wisconsin! The
District Deputy Grand Master commended all the officers for their fine work and stated that his
report would show the highest rating possible.
June 20, 1955: Hudson Lodge voted to take a written ballot on the resolution of concurrent
jurisdiction of all lodges in Summit County. Resolution failed.
July 31, 1955: Hudson Lodge had 238 members in good standing.
October 17, 1955: For Past Master's Night, Hudson Lodge had 18 Past Masters.
January 16, 1956: The Lodge voted to send $0.15 per capita to Craftsmens Recreation Club.
April 9, 1956: At Hudson's annual inspection, R.W. Bro. Reginald Anderson gave a talk on the
July 31, 1956: Hudson Lodge had 248 members in good standing.
November 3, 1956: In accordance with the legislation adopted by the Grand Lodge on October 20,
1956, concurrent jurisdiction in Summit County became effective on October 26, 1956. Masonic
membership in Ohio was at 276,475. Any Master Mason not giving his Master Mason exam within a
year from the date raised, must be suspended. Hudson Lodge voted to pay for the officers' aprons
of the newly formed Tallmadge Lodge.
January 7, 1957: The Lodge voted to send $0.15 per capita to Craftsmens Recreation Club. Hudson
Lodge received a letter from Masons in the city of Solon requesting support for their petition for
dispensation to form a new lodge in Solon, OH. Vote was in favor.
July 31, 1957: Hudson Lodge had 254 members in good standing.
December 16, 1957: The Lodge voted to send $0.30 per capita to Craftsmens Recreation Club.
February 3, 1958: Hudson Lodge voted in favor of establishing a Masonic Relief Association of
March 24, 1958: Three candidates were initiated, and one was passed to the Degree of Fellow Craft.
April 7, 1958: Right Worshipful Reginald Anderson, the D.D.G.M., was elected Honorary Member of
April 14, 1958: Four Entered Apprentices were examined, and three were passed to the Degree of
April 28, 1958: Four Fellow Crafts were examined, and two were raised to the Sublime Degree of
May 12,1958: The Master Mason lecture was given to five recently raised Brothers.
July 21, 1958: Eighty-eight (88) members and visitors attended the funeral service of W.B. Henry C.
July 31, 1958: Hudson Lodge had 259 members in good standing.
September 15, 1958: A resolution was adopted to petition the Grand Lodge to designate Summit
County as a district by itself.
December 15, 1958: The Lodge voted to send $0.30 per capita to Craftsmens Recreation Club. An
alarm at the door was answered; W.B. Robert Ritschard was admitted with a goose, properly
clothed, which he presented to W.M. Nelson Case as a gift.
April 20, 1959: Bro. Howard Croy announced that he had a book in which there appeared some
facts concerning the original Hudson Lodge #68 that he would be pleased to present to the Lodge.
June 1, 1959: The Music Committee was authorized to spend up to $800 for a new organ. With the
help of the Eastern Star, an organ was purchased for $927.
July 31, 1959: Hudson Lodge had 262 members in good standing.
April 4, 1960: The Lodge voted to increase dues from $10 to $12.50.
July 31, 1960: Hudson Lodge had 260 members in good standing.
November 7, 1960: Bro. Donald Soules was elected Worshipful Master.
December 19, 1960: Hudson Lodge voted to send $0.30 per capita to Craftsmen's Recreation Club.
1961: Worshipful Master Soules requested that the Historical Committee, chaired by Bro. Gus
Jenkins, prepare a report for each of the following years -- 1956, 1951, 1946, etc.. back to 1911.
These reports were presented at various meetings during the year, and attached to the minutes.
The reports were most interesting and contained a great deal of historical material.
March 20, 1961: The Worshipful Master designated this meeting as a reunion of five-year members,
and the Historical Committee presented a report of the activities during 1956.
April 3, 1961: This meeting was designated as a reunion of ten-year members. On October 12, 1951
Hudson Lodge celebrated its 75th anniversary with M.W. Grand Master James J. Harbage in
April 7, 1961: This meeting was designated as a reunion of fifteen-year members. M.W. Grand
Master Ernest F. Schaefer attended Hudson's inspection on March 18, 1946.
May 1, 1961: The Worshipful Master designated this meeting as a reunion of twenty-year members.
It was reported that M.W. Grand Master Ernest F. Schaefer had died. He was an honorary member
of Hudson Lodge.
May 15, 1961: This meeting was designated as a reunion of twenty-five year members. It was also
Past Masters' night; twenty-three (23) Past Masters were present.
June 5, 1961: This meeting was designated as a reunion of the thirty (30) and thirty-five (35) year
members. Hudson Lodge passed three resolutions making the following Masons honorary
members of Hudson Lodge: M.W. Bro. Charles H. Strayer, Grand Master; R.W. Bro. O. Tower
Swartz, D.D.G.M. and W.B. John C. Yerkins, Education Officer of the 21st District.
June 19, 1961: This meeting was designated as a reunion of the forty (40) and forty-five (45) year
July 31, 1961: Hudson Lodge had 258 members in good standing.
September 11, 1961: Hudson Lodge celebrated its 85th birthday with a rededication of the Lodge
by M. W. B. Charles H. Strayer, Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Ohio. W. B. Donald Soules,
Master of Hudson Lodge, headed the rededication committee. Among the honored guests were
past and present District Deputy Grand Masters, and the District Educational Officer. M. W. B.
Strayer was presented with an honorary membership in Hudson Lodge #510. This was also the
reunion meeting of the 50-year members.
October 16, 1961: The Lodge discussed open installations. Although there is nothing in the code to
prevent them, our D.D.G.M. advised against it.
October 27, 1961: The Grand Master sent a communication to all Lodges stating that although there
is nothing in the code to prevent an open installation, he still required an application for a
dispensation, which was based on six (6) conditions.
November 6, 1961: Bro. Walter Brockman was elected Worshipful Master.
December 4, 1961: The Lodge voted to help a needy family at Christmas.
January 15, 1962: A petition, signed by 128 Masonic brethren, for permission to form a lodge in
Stow, Ohio, was read.
May 7, 1962: Bro. Ford Muckleroy reported making a donation of trees to Craftsmen's Park; he and
his wife also planted the trees. In appreciation for this, the project will be named in honor of
July 31, 1962: Hudson Lodge had 261 members in good standing.
November 5, 1962: Bro. Robert Joslyn was elected Worshipful Master.
November 12, 1962: This was a visitation by Summit Lodge #213. The Worshipful Master directed
attention to an old picture of Hudson and Summit Lodges together. W.B. Jenkins pointed out that
almost all (10) of our charter members were from Summit Lodge.
January 7, 1963: There was discussion about Hudson's old charter, No. 68.
January 21, 1963: W.B. Gus Jenkins was presented his 50-year pin by R.W. Bro. Ed Jenkins, Grand
Tyler of the Grand Lodge of Ohio.
March 4, 1963: The investigating committee reported favorably on eight (8) candidates, and all were
elected to receive the degrees.
March 11, 1963: Hudson Lodge initiated four (4) new members.
April 29, 1963: Four (4) brethren were passed to the degree of Fellow Craft.
November 4, 1963: Bro. T. H. Brown, Jr. was elected Worshipful Master.
November 25, 1963: The outgoing Worshipful Master held a memorial service for ten (10) brethren
who had passed to the Celestial Lodge above.
January 6, 1964: A communication from the Grand Lodge warned the brethren about chain letters.
January 20, 1964: W.B. Weldon Case initiated his son, Thomas Weldon Case, with the assistance of
the officers of the Aurora Lodge.
February 17, 1964: The Lodge made a two-year donation to Craftsmen's Park.
April 6, 1964: A request was received from the Order of Eastern Star for use of the Lodge rooms by
a newly formed Rainbow Assembly for girls. Permission was granted.
November 2, 1964: Bro. William F. Becker, Sr. was elected Worshipful Master.
November 30, 1964: This was installation of officers. W.B. Jenkins, installing officer, remarked that
Thomas Case, being installed as Junior Steward, was the fifth generation of the Case family that he
had either installed, raised, or worked with during his Masonic career. (Bro. Tom is the son of W.B.
December 21, 1964: Bro. Holland reported that Hudson's annual Christmas party was enjoyed by
more than fifty children and family members.
January 4, 1965: Hudson Lodge sent $78.00 to Craftsmen's Park. The Park had finished the year in
the black for the first time.
February 1, 1965: Hudson's Bro. Ford Muckleroy was elected Vice President of Craftsmen's Park.
April 5, 1965: The Lodge voted to send $20 to Craftsmen's Park for the Sea Wall Fund.
May 17, 1965: Richard (Dick) Derr was initiated an Entered Apprentice by the officers from Rockton
Lodge in Kent. Bro. Derr was an architect who later designed the front of the Temple.
October 4, 1965: Bro. Muckleroy reported that Craftsmen's Park in general is in the best condition
ever. Also, that it "broke even" financially.
October 18, 1965: A report from the Grand Lodge Communication showed a state-wide loss in
membership by 2,166 to 273,919. Hudson Lodge voted in favor of granting consent to the
establishment of a new lodge in North Canton, to be known as William H. Hoover Lodge.
November 1, 1965: Bro. Robert A. Gosser was elected Worshipful Master.
December 20, 1965: Hudson Lodge gave 30 cents per capita to Craftsmen's Recreation Club.
March 28, 1966: Hudson's inspection was attended by 144 Masons: 92 visitors from 38 lodges; 52
Hudson members, 14 of whom were Past Masters.
April 4, 1966: Bro. Muckleroy reminded the brethren that Craftsmen's Park was asking for a $10
donation from each Brother to carry on the work of the park.
May 2, 1966: Hudson Lodge sent $20 to the Sea Wall Fund of Craftsmen's Park. W.B. Becker again
brought up the possibility of the Lodge sponsoring a chapter of DeMolay. Decision to be made by
June 20, 1966: A resolution was passed to sponsor a DeMolay Chapter.
July 31, 1966: Hudson Lodge had 262 members in good standing.
October 17, 1966: W.B. Art Amlung initiated his son, James Amlung, at Past Master's night.
November 7, 1966: The Lodge was notified that Hudson Chapter of the Order of DeMolay had been
authorized. Also, it was announced that W.B. Robert Gosser had been appointed Educational
Officer of the 21st District. Bro. George E. Holland was elected Worshipful Master.
November 21, 1966: W. M. Gosser read a very interesting letter from R.W. Bro. Arthur O. Hill, PDDGM
and honorary member of Hudson Lodge, about John Brown and his association with Hudson
Lodge No. 68. John Brown received the three degrees in Masonry in 1824. He moved to
Pennsylvania in 1826. In 1859, he and his sons raided the U.S. Arsenal at Harper's Ferry, Virginia,
and later, because of it, was sentenced, after trial, to be hanged. The judge was Hon. Richard
Parker, Past Master of Wincester Hiram Lodge 21, A.F.& A.M., Wincester, Virginia, and later, Grand
Master of the Commonwealth of Virginia.
November 28, 1966: Installation of officers was followed by a party honoring W.B. Gus Jenkins on
the occasion of the 50th anniversary of his installation as Worshipful Master of Hudson Lodge. In
attendance were 150 Masons and friends.
December 19, 1966: Bro. Muckleroy reported that Craftsmen's Park had had a rough time of it the
last two years, but now that they have a new manager they are expecting things to improve.
January 2, 1967: Craftsmen's Recreation Club requested a donation of 30 cents per member for
1967. It was approved.
March 6, 1967: R.W. Bro. Jones was made an honorary member of Hudson Lodge.
March 20, 1967: W.B. Becker reported the Institution of Hudson Chapter of DeMolay on March 11th.
Forty-six (46) boys were initiated.
April 17, 1967: A proclamation from the Grand Master was read honoring the 250th anniversary of
the founding of the Grand Lodge of England, June 24, 1717. W.B. Becker reported that the Gus
Jenkins Night event was a big success. One hundred thirty were present to celebrate Bro. Gus' 50
years of service to the community.
May 1, 1967: Bro. Muckleroy reported the establishment of an Endowment Fund by the park board
of Craftsmen's Park.
June 5, 1967: W.B. Joe Alexander, a special guest of Hudson Lodge, gave a very interesting talk on
the history of Masonry of the Negroes of America, commonly known as Prince Hall Masons.
October 2, 1967: The Lodge sent a donation of $24 for the Sea Wall at Craftsmen's Park.
October 31, 1967: Hudson Lodge had 263 members in good standing.
November 6, 1967: Bro. Kenneth D. Rowe was elected Worshipful Master.
January 15, 1968: The Lodge sent 30 cents per capita ($79.80) to Craftsmen's Park. The Lodge also
approved the purchase of new officer's aprons and jewels.
April 15, 1968: W.B. William D. Shilts was presented a 65-year medal.
October 31, 1968: Hudson Lodge had 264 members in good standing.
November 4, 1968: Bro. Ralph G. Tesmer was elected Worshipful Master.
January 6, 1969: Hudson Lodge sent $80.40 to Craftsmen's Park.
April 14, 1969: R.W. Bro. Scofield, Grand Lodge Marshall, and the author and guiding force of many
Grand Lodge education programs, was present at Hudson's annual inspection. The D.D.G.M.
remainded the Brethren to maintain "Masonic prestige."
April 21, 1969: W.B. Holland spoke of how he and W.M. Tesmer had attended the reception for the
Grand Master. He noted that M.W. Bro. Robert A. Hinshaw had attended Western Reserve Academy
October 6, 1969: W.B. Holland reported the death of an old Hudson resident and handyman, Mr.
John Maccino. "Old John," as he was known, a non-Mason, was impressed by the friendliness and
industry of the Masonic brethren whom he had observed working on their temple. After his death, it
was discovered that he had left his entire estate, $3,678.28, to Hudson Lodge. His picture is
attached to the minutes.
October 20, 1969: W.M. Tesmer reported that Grand Lodge approved statewide concurrent
jurisdiction for three years.
October 31, 1969: Hudson Lodge had 271 members in good standing.
November 3, 1969: Bro. Edward A. Breeden was elected Worshipful Master.
February 2, 1970: Craftsmen's Recreation Club requested a 30 cent per capita donation. That was
approved: 272x0.30 = $81.60.
July 31, 1970: Hudson Lodge had 282 members in good standing.
October 5, 1970: Bro. Thomas W. Case, son of W.B. Weldon W. Case, grandson of W.B. Harry N.
Case, and great grandson of W.B. W.W. Wood, who had served in the line for six years, announced
that he would be leaving this jurisdiction and could not offer himself as a candidate for Worshipful
Master in the forthcoming election.
October 19, 1970: This was Past Masters' night. Hudson Lodge had 32 living Past Masters, and 21
of them were present.
November 2, 1970: Bro. Robert B. Thompson was elected Worshipful Master.
November 16, 1970: The Worshipful Master finished the reading of the Ancient Charges of a Free
Mason, as required by the Grand Lodge. He then reported on the Masonic show-case, in honor of
M.W. Bro. Thompson, Grand Master of Ohio, held at the Public Auditorium in Cleveland, Ohio on
November 4th. Dignitaries from all Masonic Bodies were present; about 10,000 Masons and ladies
heard guest speaker Dr. Norman Vincent Peale.
November 23, 1970: Hudson Lodge held its first open installation of officers.
December 21, 1970: The Worshipful Master reported on another successful Christmas party for
local children. Approximately 90 children and adults attended. W.B. Gosser had the role of Santa.
January 18, 1971: Hudson Lodge sent $84.30 to Craftsmen's Park -- 30 cents per capita.
March 1, 1971: W.M. Thompson informed the Lodge that his vocation called for him to be sent to
Union City, Tennessee, but that he would make every effort to continue to serve as Worshipful
Master. He presided over ten (10) of the nineteen meetings that followed, including the annual
October 7, 1971: Funeral services were conducted for Bro. William D. Shilts, age 90, senior member
of Hudson Lodge, a Mason for 68 years.
October 25, 1971: This was Past Masters' night. W.B. Robert Gosser presented to the Lodge his
Grand Lodge Education apron. W.B. Gosser served the Grand Lodge as Education Officer for 4
October 31, 1971: Hudson Lodge had 283 members in good standing.
November 1, 1971: Bro. R.C. Erwin was elected Worshipful Master.
February 21, 1972: Craftsmen's Park requested a donation of 60 cents per capita; Hudson Lodge
sent 30 cents per capita, or $84.90.
March 13, 1972: This was Hudson's annual inspection. Attendance was 111; 52 members (17 Past
Masters) and 59 visitors. In his concluding remarks, R.W. Bro. White commented on the active part
that Freemasons had played in the aerospace programs.
March 20, 1972: The reading of the Ancient Charges was concluded.
June 5, 1972: M.W. Bro. Don Thomson, P.G.M., was elected an honorary member of Hudson Lodge
#510. Annual dues were raised to $17.50.
June 12, 1972: A special open meeting was held to present three fifty-year pins, and especially to
honor W.B. Gustavus E. Jenkins who received his sixty-year pin. The pins were presented by M.W.
Bro. Don Thomson, P.G.M.
September 18, 1972: The Grand Lodge report of July 31, 1972 showed that membership in Hudson
Lodge was 288, the high point in membership of Hudson Lodge.
October 23, 1972: The Worshipful Master announced that W.B. Gosser had been appointed District
Governor of DeMolay. He also announced that state-wide jurisdiction was now in effect.
November 6, 1972: Bro. J.W. Douds was elected Worshipful Master.
February 5, 1973: Craftsmen's Club requested a 60-cent per capita donation. That was approved,
and Hudson Lodge sent $168.80 to the Park.
March 5, 1973: A communication from the Grand Master was read directing each Masonic Lodge to
set aside the week of June 10 - 17, 1973 as patriotism week. Masonic activities during this week will
be limited to stated meetings only, and to programs dealing with and promoting the Spirit of
May 7, 1973: An edict from the Grand Lodge was read forbidding Masons joining the Universal
League of Free Masons.
June 4, 1973: A proposal was presented for renovation of the Temple, including an addition of a
second floor. Preliminary cost estimate was $56,000. A finance committee was appointed to explore
ways to raise the funds.
June 11, 1973: Hudson Lodge members and their guests participated in a patriotic program as
mandated by the Grand Lodge.
October 8, 1973: This was Past Masters' night, with 16 of them present. It was announced that W.B.
Becker had been appointed to the office of D.D.G.H.P. of the Grand Chapter of R.A.M. of Ohio.
October 31, 1973: Hudson Lodge had 282 members in good standing.
November 5, 1973: Bro. James R. Amlung was elected Worshipful Master.
November 30, 1973: W. B. Arthur Amlung installed his son James as Master of Hudson Lodge.
December 17, 1973: It was reported that 30 youngsters attended the Lodge's annual Christmas
January 21, 1974: Hudson Lodge donated $168.00 to Craftsmen's Park as per request of 60 cents
February 4, 1974: W.M. Amlung reported that the Secretary of Star Lodge in Cuyahoga Falls had
shown him a letter, dated in 1855, and discovered in their old files, from someone in Hudson
interested in starting a lodge there.
February 18, 1974: Bro. Duchae announced that a Fellow Craft Club had been formed.
April 1, 1974: The reading of the Ancient Charges of a Freemason was concluded.
April 15, 1974: Hudson Lodge sent $100 to the Grand Lodge disaster fund to help in the relief
efforts of the devastating tornado in south-western Ohio, Xenia.
October 31, 1974: Hudson Lodge had 277 members in good standing.
November 4, 1974: Bro. Daniel R. Schmidt was elected Worshipful Master.
January 13, 1975: A building committee was formed to explore the costs of remodeling and/or
adding on to the Temple.
January 20, 1975: Hudson Lodge sent $166.80 to Craftsmen's Park.
March 31, 1975: The Temple Renovation Committee reported the following estimates: 1)Reroofing
the present structure - $3,000. 2) Reroofing, plus aluminum siding, stucco and new trim, plus new
gas heating system (previously authorized) - $13,250. 3) Addition of second floor with no finish
work - $92,500. 4) Addition of second floor with finish work - $120,000. No action was taken.
May 19, 1975: The Building Finance Committee reported that prospects were poor for obtaining
sufficient funds for proposals #3 and #4 as reported March 31st. The Lodge voted to proceed with
Plan 2, and authorized expenditure of up to $15,000.
October 31, 1975: Hudson Lodge had 279 members in good standing.
November 3, 1975: Bro. Tom Jones reported that the exterior renovation of the Temple had been
completed. The actual cost was $6,253.19. Bro. William Duchae was elected Worshipful Master.
February 2, 1976: The Lodge voted to continue with Lodge room renovations: rewire all electrical
circuits, install new drywall, a new ceiling, and a new carpet - estimated cost was $13,000.
February 16, 1976: Hudson Lodge voted to give $165.00 to Craftsmen's Park, as per their request of
60 cents per capita.
March 1, 1976: A dispensation from M.W. Bro. Calvin T. Hubler, Grand Master, was read authorizing
Hudson Lodge to hold its three March meetings at Darrow Street Grange Hall, due to the Lodge
renovation. Also, W.B. Clifford Mason, secretary of Star Lodge, presented a letter to W.B. Duchae,
dated in 1855 and signed by eight Masons in Hudson, stating their interest in starting a lodge here.
The letter must not have gained any traction.
March 15, 1976: Bro. Tom Jones reported that the renovation of the Lodge room was nearly
complete. W.M. Duchae reported that Bro. Russell Foldessy was designing shrubbery and
landscaping for the Lodge, and would need help installing the same.
June 29, 1976: President and Bro. Gerald Ford sent a congratulatory letter to Hudson Lodge for its
July 4, 1976: The Lodge participated in Hudson's bicentennial parade with a float portraying Gen.
George Washington crossing the Delaware, and also Washington as Master of his Lodge. The float
was awarded first place.
July 10, 1976: Saturday morning Hudson was drenched by two and a half inches of rain.
Fortunately, the afternoon and evening were beautiful and the 100th anniversary and rededication
celebration of Hudson Lodge took place as scheduled. A Lodge of Master Masons was opened at
2:45 P.M. The flag was presented by Cuyahoga Falls Commandry #83. The secretary read the
proclamation from the Mayor of Hudson, proclaiming July 10, 1976 as Masonic Day in Hudson in
honor of the centennial of Hudson Lodge #510 F.& A.M. The Worshipful Master then read a letter of
greetings to the Brethren of Hudson Lodge from Brother and President Gerald R. Ford.
M.W. Calvin T. Hubler was introduced and given Grand Honors and presented with the tile and
gavel. The Grand Lodge officers and assisting pro-tem officers were introduced and given Grand
Honors. Then, M.W. Bro. Hubler declared the Grand Lodge of Ohio open. The reconsecration
ceremony was conducted in a very impressive manner, and on conclusion, the Grand Master
declared the Grand Lodge closed.
Worshipful Brothers G.E. Jenkins and George Holland were presented west of the altar where the
M.W. Grand Master presented each a beautiful plaque in recognition of their service and dedication
to Masonry and to Hudson Lodge.
W.M. Duchae presented M.W. Bro. Hubler with an honorary membership to Hudson Lodge.
W.B. Howard Parmelee and Brothers Charles Evans and Stanley Wheeler were presented their
50-year certificates and pins by the Grand Master who asked the W.M. to rap up the Lodge and
Grand Honors were given to these Brethren.
The W.M. thanked all for their attendance and invited everyone to remain for the fellowship hour
with the ladies, and later to attend the dinner-dance at the Brown Derby.
The work being complete, the W.M. asked the Grand Master to close the Lodge, which he did in a
In attendance were 11 Hudson Lodge officers, 32 members (21 P.M. of Hudson Lodge), and 33
visitors, for a total of 76!
July 11, 1976: Sunday afternoon, the area was again inundated by three and a half inches of rain
which resulted in severe flooding of many homes and businesses, including the Masonic Temple.
The new carpet was completely saturated. The next few days were spent cleaning up.
July 31, 1976: There were 247,319 Masons in Ohio.
October 4, 1976: The Ancient Charges of a Free Mason were read.
October 31, 1976: Hudson Lodge had 270 members in good standing.
November 1, 1976: Hudson Lodge made a change to its by-laws: The stated meetings will be held
on the first Monday of each month. Bro. Tom Jones was elected Worshipful Master.
February 7, 1977: Hudson Lodge made a $0.60 per capita donation to Craftsmen's Park - $162.00.
The first three Ancient Charges of a Free Mason were read.
March 28, 1977: This was Hudson's annual inspection in the Master Mason degree, and Bro. Keith
S. Williams was the candidate. Our W.M. Bro. Tom Jones wore the apron of Bro. Williams'
great-grandfather who was Master of Mt. Carmel Lodge #348 in Pennsylvania in 1936.
April 25, 1977: W.B. Frank H. Davidson, a member of Milnor Lodge #287 of Pittsburg, PA, a 69-year
Mason, was presented with an honorary membership to Hudson Lodge. W.B. Harlan L. Trumbull
and Brothers J. Herbert Long and Alan L. McCracken were presented with their 50-year certificates
and pins by M.W. Bro. Don Thompson, P.G.M. of the Grand Lodge of Ohio. Then, he presented W.B.
Gus Jenkins with his 65-year certificate and pin. (W.B. Jenkins was W.M. of Hudson Lodge in 1917.)
All were given Grand Honors.
October 31, 1977: Hudson Lodge had 262 members in good standing.
November 7, 1977: Bro. Roger Dunn was elected Worshipful Master.
January 2, 1978: Hudson Lodge made a $0.60 per capita donation to Craftsmen's Park - $157.00.
March 6, 1978: Hudson Lodge voted to sponsor its first athlete to the Junior Special Olympics at
September 30, 1978: Hudson Lodge had 264 members in good standing.
November 6, 1978: There was a request from Craftsmen's Park for $0.65 per capita donation.
Hudson Lodge sent $171.60. Bro. Russell Foldessy was elected Worshipful Master.
February 5, 1979: Hudson Lodge voted to sponsor an athlete at the Special Olympics this summer
at Ohio State stadium.
October 31, 1979: Hudson Lodge had 259 members in good standing.
November 5, 1979: Bro. Charles O. Gibson was elected Worshipful Master.
March 3, 1980: Hudson Lodge voted to donate $0.75 per capita to Craftsmen's Park.
October 31, 1980: Hudson Lodge had 253 members in good standing.
November 3, 1980: Bro. Richard T. Huff was elected Worshipful Master.
February 2, 1981: Hudson Lodge sent $211 to Craftsmen's Park -- per capita donation and for the
May 4, 1981: The members of Hudson Lodge #510 voted on the proposal to obtain Hudson's
original number 68. The proposal was defeated.
September 14, 1981: Bro. Kilroy reported that a monument marking the spot where Freemasonry
began in Summit County had been dedicated. It stands in Middlebury Park off East Market Street in
October 5, 1981: The Ancient Charges of Freemasonry were read, as required.
October 31, 1981: Hudson Lodge had 244 members in good standing.
November 2, 1981: Bro. Kenton O. Hart was elected Worshipful Master.
January 4, 1982: Hudson Lodge sent $182.25 to Craftsmen's Park - 243 x $0.75.
March 1, 1982: Bro. Kilroy reported that Craftsmen's Park will be run by "a number of committees."
May 3, 1982: Hudson Lodge donated $25 to the Craftsmen's Park Endowment Fund.
June 5, 1982: W.B. Gustavus Jenkins, a Mason for 69.5 years, passed to the Celestial Lodge above.
October 31, 1982: Hudson Lodge had 235 members in good standing.
November 1, 1982: Bro. Ray Kilroy was elected Worshipful Master. He reported that Craftsmen's
Park Endowment Fund had reached $6500, with a goal of $200,000.
January 3, 1983: Hudson Lodge donated $0.75 per capita to Craftsmen's Park - $179.25.
March 7, 1983: Hudson Lodge sent $50 to the Craftsmen's Park Endowment Fund.
October 3, 1983: An edict from the Grand Master was read which put all Masters on notice that there
would be no hazing or horse play during conferral of degrees.
October 31, 1983: The Worshipful Master finished reading the Ancient Charges, as required.
Hudson Lodge had 230 members in good standing.
November 7, 1983: Bro. Bert Buganski was elected Worshipful Master.
December 5, 1983: W.M. Bert Buganski suggested that the Lodge present a Masonic trowel to each
newly raised Master Mason. W.B Huff moved that this be done, and that the name and dates be
engraved on it. The motion was seconded and passed.
May 7, 1984: W.M. Buganski and Bro. Raudins were given authority to proceed with the renovation
of the front of the Temple, i.e., replacing the upstairs window with the Masonic Emblem.
May 14, 1984: Bro. Raudins presented Bro. Derr's plans for remodeling the upper front window of
the Temple. The plans will now be taken to the proper boards in Hudson Village for their approval.
May 21, 1984: Bro. Raudins announced that the plans for remodeling the front upper window of the
Temple had been approved by the Village.
June 4, 1984: Bro. Frank Scholler purchased the aircraft aluminum for the construction of the
Square & Compasses.
Summer 1984: W.M. Bert Buganski and Bro. Juris Raudins removed the front upper window of the
Temple, installed a wooden panel in its place, installed the gold anodized Square & Compasses,
and painted the front of the Temple.
September 10, 1984: W.M. Bert Buganski announced that the alterations, painting, and clean up of
the front of the Temple were nearly complete. He thanked Bro. Raudins for his many hours of work
in the construction of the Square & Compasses. The total cost of the project was only $492.00.
October 31, 1984: Hudson Lodge had 227 members in good standing.
November 5, 1984: Bro. Juris Raudins was elected Worshipful Master. Also, W.B. Hart reported that
a new heating system had been ordered. The cost will be $8500. Bro. George Gott donated $1000
towards this project.
January 7, 1985: W.M. Raudins reported that 30 bikes were reconditioned and delivered for
Christmas by Hudson Lodge in participation with Rick Case's "Bikes for Kids" Program. He
suggested that the Lodge consider this as an annual project of the Lodge.
February 11, 1985: This was the annual inspection of Hudson Lodge. Besides the usual business
of an inspection, W.B. Arthur Amlung was presented his 65-year pin by R.W. Bro. David Heasley.
April 1, 1985: The cost of the duct work for the heating system totaled $5050. The secretary, W.B.
Kilroy moved to reimburse the Temple Corporation $5050. The motion was seconded and passed.
The Lodge also voted to proceed with installing the air conditioning system. Also, the Worshipful
Master announced that Bro. Hal Foster is paying for the light on the newly installed Square &
Compasses, and the installation of the light.
May 6, 1985: W.B. Kenton Hart reported that the cost of the heating system was running about
$1,500 more than estimated due to an additional bill of $556 for duct work and higher utility bills
while the system was being adjusted. He moved that the Lodge contribute $1,000 to the Temple
Corporation. The motion was seconded and passed. Also, Bro. Hal Foster presented Bro. Derr's
drawings for the front portico. The estimated cost was $6,000 and was to be covered by donations.
Bro. Foster made the first donation in the amount of $2250.
May 13, 1985: W.B. Don Barlow read the resolution, written by Bro. Paul Warren, to be presented to
the Hudson Village Council and Township Trustees proclaiming June 1, 1985 "America's Freedom
Day" and to permit Hudson Lodge to collect funds from the public for the "Statue of Liberty
June 3, 1985: W.M. Juris Raudins announced that $339.69 had been collected for the "Statue of
Liberty Restoration Fund." Also, W.B. Kilroy moved that the Lodge accept the proposal from W.M.
Raudins to add a portico to the front of the Temple as outlined in the June bulletin, and that the
financing of the portico be by donation or subscription only. The motion was seconded and
passed. W.B. Franklin Barlow informed the Lodge that the cost of the pillars for the portico is
$1,870.00, with a delivery time of eight weeks.
June 17, 1985: A devastating tornado hit Newton Falls, Ohio on May 31, 1985. The Lodge sent $250
to the Grand Lodge Relief Fund for distribution to the Newton Falls area.
September 9, 1985: Bro. Sandy Brock donated a cornerstone for the front of the Temple. Also, W.M.
Raudins presented, for consideration of the Brethren, lanterns which may be used by the Fellow
Craft Team in the Master Mason Degree. The sample presented was made by W.B. Kenton Hart. The
cost of this lantern would be $14.00, each. It was decided to have 13 lanterns made. W.B. William
Becker and Bro. Hal Foster, each donated $50 towards this project. The Lodge voted to increase
dues by $5.00 to $27.50, annually.
September 30, 1985: The Robertson Fellow Craft Team, accompanied by bag pipes and drum,
raised Bro. James Dennis Rumsey to the Sublime Degree of Master Mason.
October 7, 1985: Hudson Lodge voted to send a $0.50 per capita donation to Craftsmen's Park --
$111.00. The Worshipful Master reported that there will be about $1,000.00 remaining from the
portico fund. Bro. Derr recommended that the floor in the ante room be replaced with a vinyl
parquet floor tile, that looks like wood, for $600.00. The motion was seconded and passed. W.B.
Richard Huff sent a letter to the Lodge proposing that the Lodge look into regaining its original
number, 68. R.W.B. Shaw explained the complicated procedure for doing this. A committee of three
was appointed to study the matter. Also, the Ancient Charges were read as required.
November 4, 1985: W. Bro. Russell Foldessy was elected Worshipful Master.
December 2, 1985: W.B. Kenton Hart presented the Lodge with the stained glass lanterns that he
made for the Fellow Craft Team to use in the Master Mason Degree. He also supplied two wooden
cases for their safe storage.
January 6, 1986: W.B. Raudins reported that the Lodge had refurbished and delivered 26 bicycles
to deserving children at Christmas.
February 3, 1986: The Lodge voted to spend $780.00 of the Portico Fund to frame the Square &
Compasses as originally drawn by Bro. Derr.
April 17, 1986: Hudson Lodge voted to send $0.50 per capita to Craftsmen's Park - $111.
June 16, 1986: The District Deputy Grand Masters, R.W.B. Shaw and Gang, were in attendance to
help dedicate the portico.
October 20, 1986: Hudson Lodge held a Table Lodge meeting.
October 31, 1986: Hudson Lodge had 220 members in good standing.
November 3, 1986: Bro. Stewart Odell was elected Worshipful Master.
April 6, 1987: The secretary, W.B. Kilroy, read the proposed standing resolution for the "Hudson
Masonic Temple Endowment Fund." (March 2, 1987 minutes) It was moved, seconded, and passed.
The Lodge also voted to sponsor an athlete in the Special Olympics.
May 4, 1987: The Scholarship Committee reported that it had awarded the Lodge's first $500
scholarship to a Hudson High School student.
September 14, 1987: W.M. Stewart Odell commended Bro. Frank Scholler and W. B. Juris Raudins
for their efforts in getting the new floor covering installed in the ante-room.
October 5, 1987: Hudson Lodge voted to send $0.50 per capita to Craftsmen's Park. The total
amount was $109.00.
October 19, 1987: The Ancient Charges were read, as required.
October 31, 1987: Hudson Lodge had 216 members in good standing.
November 2, 1987: Bro. Richard Gross was elected Worshipful Master, and Bro. Frank Scholler was
elected honorary member of Hudson Lodge.
December 7, 1987: W.B. Juris Raudins reported that the "Bikes for Kids" program was no longer
available because it lacked a business sponsor. He recommended putting together a food basket
and some gifts for a needy family in the area. W.B. Duchae suggested passing the hat tonight for
this project. W.B. Franklin Barlow moved that the Lodge also appropriate $50 for this project. The
motion was seconded and passed.
January 4, 1988: The Lodge received notification of dual membership for Bro. Hal Foster with
Camelback Daylight Lodge #75 in Scottsdale, Arizona. Then Bro. Frank Scholler read a letter from
Bro. Foster congratulating the Lodge on the completion of the ante-room floor. He also sent a
check for $500.00 for the Temple Endowment Fund. (Thank you, Hal!) Also, W.B. Raudins gave a
report on the Christmas basket that was delivered to a local family. Mary Lou Morse, who helped to
establish the Hudson Community Service Association, recommended the family.
April 4, 1988: The Lodge voted to sponsor an athlete at the Special Olympics.
September 19, 1988: W.B. Bert Buganski charged Bros. Dale Lewis, Kerry Winer, and James
Selechta with unmasonic conduct, as per Grand Lodge Form. The secretary, W.B. Kilroy, moved to
accept the charges as presented, but to maintain peace and harmony in the Lodge, to turn the
matter over to the Grand Lodge Trial Commission. The motion was seconded and passed.
October 31, 1988: Hudson Lodge had 209 members in good standing.
November 7, 1988: W.B. Richard Gross was elected Worshipful Master for a second year. Also,
Hudson Lodge sent the $0.50 per capita request to Craftsmen's Park -- $106.50. The Ancient
Charges were read.
December 4, 1988: The secretary read a letter that he had received from Bro. Thomas of Victory
Lodge #649 charging Bro. Korker Vrooman of Waukesha Lodge in Waukesha, Wisconsin, but
residing in Hudson, with unmasonic conduct. The Worshipful Master turned the matter over to the
January 9, 1989: J.W. W. B. Juris Raudins reported that the Lodge's Christmas Basket program
was able to assist two families.
May 1, 1989: Hudson Lodge voted to sponsor an athlete at the Special Olympics.
June 5, 1989: The Grievance Committee reported that they found no grounds for the charges filed
by Bro. David J. Thomas of Victory Lodge against Bro. Korker Vrooman of Waukesha Lodge of
Wisconsin in December 1988. It was moved and seconded to accept the report and the
recommendation of dismissing the charges. The motion carried. Also, the secretary read the
second reading of the proposed By-Law change increasing the annual dues of Hudson Lodge
from $27.50 to $35.00. The increase passed. W.B. Buganski reported that Hudson Lodge had
presented another $500 scholarship to a deserving Hudson High School student.
June 30, 1989: Hudson Lodge had 208 members in good standing.
October 16, 1989: The Ancient Charges were read, as required.
November 6, 1989: Bro. James R. Rumsey was elected Worshipful Master.
December 4, 1989: The Lodge voted to support another needy family this Christmas.
January 8, 1990: The Temple Corporation reported that Mr. Buchanan, owner of Turner's Mill
property, had informed several of our members verbally that he does not want the Lodge Brethren
using their parking lot. A letter was sent to him asking for clarification, and possibly reconsidering
his no parking stand.
April 1, 1990: As of this date, Stow Lodge will no longer be renting the Hudson Temple.
April 2, 1990: Hudson Lodge voted to sponsor an athlete to the Special Olympics.
June 30, 1990: Hudson Lodge had 195 members in good standing.
October 15, 1990: The Ancient Charges were read, as required.
November 5, 1990: W.B. James R. Rumsey was again elected Worshipful Master. Also, Hudson
Lodge voted to send $0.50 per capita to Craftsmen's Park -- $97.50.
November 19, 1990: W.B. James R. Amlung initiated his son Richard Amlung. W.B. Juris Raudins
noted that this might be the first time that three generations of one family are members of Hudson
Lodge at the same time -- W.B. Arthur Amlung, grandfather, W.B. James Amlung, father, and
Richard Amlung, son.
December 20, 1990: Hudson Lodge delivered a Christmas Basket to a family in need.
May 6, 1991: Hudson Lodge voted to sponsor an athlete at the Special Olympics, and to sponsor a
child in need for summer camp at Craftsmen's Park.
June 3, 1991: It was reported that Hudson Lodge had presented the DeMolay scholarship to a
Hudson High School student at the Awards Night program.
June 30, 1991: Hudson Lodge had 194 members in good standing.
September 9, 1991: Bro. Robert Riedel stated that a group of Brethren volunteers had painted the
exterior of the Temple during the summer.
September 30, 1991: This was a special event for Hudson Lodge as W.B. James Amlung and his
father (grandfather of Bro. Richard Amlung) had the honor of raising Bro. Richard Amlung to the
Sublime Degree of Master Mason. W.B. Arthur Amlung sat next to W.B. James Amlung in the East
during the work of the evening. At the conclusion, W.B. James Amlung explained that the Bowler
hat he wore was the Bowler hat worn by W.B. Arthur Amlung when he was married in 1920, and
when he was Master in 1941.
October 28, 1991: The Ancient Charges were read, as required.
November 4, 1991: Bro. Dominic J. Lucido was elected Worshipful Master.
December 2, 1991: The Lodge voted to allocate funds for gifts to a needy family at Christmas.
January 6, 1992: The secretary read a letter from the Grand Lodge Trial Commission with the
findings of Bros. Lewis, Winer, and Selechta not guilty of unmasonic conduct. The Worshipful
Master reported that 58 pints of blood were collected on December 24, 1991 when Hudson Lodge
assisted the Red Cross. Also, Hudson Lodge signed an agreement with the State for "Adopt a
Highway" program. The Lodge was assigned a two-mile section of Route 91 going north out of
February 3, 1992: It was brought to the attention of the Lodge that the photos of the past few
Masters are not in the frame, and that there is a need to start a new frame. Also, Worshipful Master
Dominic Lucido gave a report on the 95th birthday party the Lodge gave W.B. Arthur Amlung on
January 29th. It was attended by 31 guests. W.B. Art said that he really enjoyed spending the
evening with so many of his Masonic friends.
June 30, 1992: Hudson Lodge had 176 members in good standing.
September 14, 1992: Hudson Lodge sent $50.00 to the Masonic Service Association hurricane relief
fund. Also, it was reported that the June blood drive netted 37 pints.
October 5, 1992: The Ancient Charges were read, as required.
November 2, 1992: W.B. James R. Amlung was elected Worshipful Master.
December 7, 1992: The Lodge allocated funds for the Christmas Basket for a family in need.
January 4, 1993: W.M. James Amlung reported on the blood drive held at the Lodge on December
24, 1992, and noted that 72 pints of blood were donated, which pleased the Red Cross very much.
April 5, 1993: Hudson Lodge voted to sponsor an athlete to the Special Olympics.
May 1993: Hudson Lodge awarded a scholarship to a deserving Hudson High School student.
June 30, 1993: Hudson Lodge had 170 members in good standing.
November 1, 1993: Bro. Robert R. Riedel was elected Worshipful Master. Also, the Lodge voted to
present the secretary, W.B. Raymond Kilroy, a gift certificate from a local restaurant for his many
years of service to the Lodge.
January 3, 1994: W.B. Raudins reported that he had delivered the Christmas Basket to a family that
was suggested by Mrs. Morse. Hudson Lodge sent the requested $1.00 per capita donation to
Craftsmen's Park -- $174.00.
February 7, 1994: Hudson Lodge voted to sponsor two athletes to the Special Olympics.
April 4, 1994: W.B. Duchae suggested that the Lodge consider setting up a rib stand and serve
dinners during Hudson Festival Days on June 22 - June24, 1994. This might generate new
members, and would be a good fundraiser for the Lodge.
June 30, 1994: Hudson Lodge had 165 members in good standing.
September 12, 1994: It was reported that the Lodge's first participation in Hudson Festival Days, by
serving rib dinners, did produce a small profit. Also, the secretary, W.B. James Amlung, reported
that he had been honored by the DeMolay by being invested with the Legion of Honor at the
June19th Conclave held in Akron, Ohio.
November 7, 1994: Bro. Glenn Foldessy was elected Worshipful Master. Also, the Lodge allocated
funds for the Christmas Basket program.
January 2, 1995: Hudson Lodge voted to send $0.50 per capita to Craftsmen's Park--$85. Also, it
was reported that 46 units of blood were collected in the December Blood Mobile at Hudson Lodge.
April 3, 1995: The Lodge voted to sponsor an athlete at the Special Olympics.
May 1, 1995: Hudson Lodge sent $71.00 to the Family Relief Fund for the Oklahoma City Explosion
May 1995: Hudson Lodge awarded a scholarship to a deserving Hudson High School student.
June 30, 1995: Hudson Lodge had 158 members in good standing.
August 1995: The Lodge again participated at the annual Hudson Art Show by serving chicken and
September 11, 1995: The Ancient Charges were read, as required.
November 6, 1995: W.B. Glenn Foldessy was elected again as Worshipful Master. The Lodge also
allocated funds for the Christmas Basket program.
December 10, 1995: W.B. James Amlung conducted a Masonic Funeral Service for his father, W.B.
Arthur F. Amlung, who was Worshipful Master of Hudson Lodge in 1941, and was a 75-year Mason.
February 5, 1996: Hudson Lodge voted to send $79.00 to Craftsmen's Park.
April 8, 1996: W.B. Russell Foldessy gave a short talk on his visit to Sandersville Lodge in Georgia,
and its history in the Civil War, and General Sherman's march to the sea.
May 5, 1996: The annual dues were raised to $50.00, and the fee for membership by demit was
changed to read "shall be equal to current year's dues." The hour of assembly for stated meetings
shall be 7:30 P.M. Also, the Lodge voted to sponsor an athlete at the Special Olympics.
June 30, 1996: Hudson Lodge had 154 members in good standing.
September 9, 1996: W.B. Robert Riedel reported that the property upon which the Lodge sits is
zoned R-1, which is residential, classified non-conforming. Therefore, the only thing the property
and building can be used for is to build a house or use as a day care center, etc. Since the storm
sewer runs diagonally across the side yard, nothing much can be done. Also, the treasurer, W.B.
Ken Hart, reported that the Lodge made a small profit from food sales at the Art on the Green.
November 4, 1996: W.B. Robert Riedel was elected Worshipful Master.
December 2, 1996: The Lodge allocated funds for two families at Christmas.
January 6, 1997: W.B. Raymond Kilroy was elected treasurer of Hudson Lodge to replace W.B.
Kenton Hart, who passed away unexpectedly.
March 3, 1997: It was discovered that the chair the Tyler had been using had been part of a dining
room set that was made in England many years ago, and is very expensive. Bro. Gerry Sawyer had
the chair reupholstered, and now the Lodge has a chair worthy of the Worshipful Master. Also, it
was noted that Bro. Paul Warren has written many historical articles and short stories. One of them
was recently published, titled "Master Soldier, Master Mason." It related the experiences of the
World War I Unknown Soldier to Freemasonry.
April 7, 1997: The secretary reported that a little over $1,000 has been donated to the Carpet Fund,
and that it would be nice to have the carpet installed before the September meeting. He also stated
that W.B.Bill Duchae's last request, before dying, was that the carpet be blue. The secretary felt his
wishes should be honored.
May 5, 1997: The Lodge allocated funds for the High School scholarship, and for one athlete at the
Special Olympics. The Ancient Charges were read, as required.
June 30, 1997: Hudson Lodge had 138 members in good standing.
September 8, 1997: The results of our participation in the Art on the Green Show were discussed,
and although Saturday was a complete washout, due to rain, the Lodge did make a small profit. It
was also noted that 39 units of blood were collected when the Blood Mobile was at Hudson Lodge
November 3, 1997: Bro. C. William Roe was elected Worshipful Master. It was noted that the carpet
had been installed, and how nice it looked. The new organ had been placed next to the preparation
room. Also, the Lodge allocated funds for the Christmas Basket Program.
January 19, 1998: The secretary read the minutes of the January 16, 1933, February 6, 1933, and
March 6, 1933 meetings. These were meetings in which W.B. William W. Shilts was initiated, passed,
and raised a Master Mason. W.B. Shilts was escorted west of the Altar, presented with his 65-year
emblem, and given Grand Honors. He thanked the secretary for reading the minutes, which
brought back memories of many brethren who were dear to him but were long since gone.
February 2, 1998: The secretary informed the brethren that 36 units of blood were collected in
December when the blood mobile was at Hudson Lodge. Also, the Ancient Charges were read, as
June 30, 1998: Hudson Lodge had 142 members in good standing.
September 14, 1998: The treasurer, W.B. Kilroy, reported that the Lodge had made a nice profit at
the Art on the Green food sales.
November 2, 1998: Bro. Richard J. Colvin was elected Worshipful Master. Also, Bro. Charles Uray
was presented with honorary membership in Hudson Lodge.
December 7, 1998: The Lodge allocated enough funds for two families at Christmas.
January 4, 1999: It was reported that 25 units of blood had been collected during the December
blood mobile at Hudson Lodge.
February 1, 1999: W.B. Juris Raudins reported that he has the original letter for the charter for
Hudson Lodge #68, which W.B. Breedon was going to have preserved and framed. Unfortunatly,
he died before getting that done. W.B. Colvin had found a place in Cleveland that would preserve
and frame the letter. A motion was made and seconded that the Worshipful Master be authorized to
spend up to $175.00 to preserve this letter. The motion passed.
March 1, 1999: The Lodge voted to sponsor one athlete at the Special Olympics.
May 3, 1999: The treasurer, W.B. Kilroy, thanked W.M. Richard Colvin, on behalf of the Lodge, for
the beautiful lamps for the treasurer's and secretary's desks.
May 1999: Hudson Lodge presented a scholarship to a deserving high school student. Also, the
Lodge participated in Hudson's Memorial Day parade with some members driving their vintage
June 30, 1999: Hudson Lodge had 136 members in good standing.
September 13, 1999: It was reported that the Lodge had made a profit from food sales at the Art on
the Green show.
November 1, 1999: Bro. Richard J. Amlung was elected Worshipful Master.
November 22, 1999: The installing Master, W.B. James Amlung, installed his son, W.B. Richard
Amlung, as Master of Hudson Lodge, who in turn installed his father, W.B. James Amlung, as
secretary. W.B. Richard was then presented his gavel which had been used by his grandfather,
W.B. Arthur Amlung, when he was Master in 1941, by his father when he was Master in 1974 and
1993, by his sister, Joyce, in 1982 as Worthy Matron of O.E.S., and by himself when he was Master
Councilor of DeMolay. This is the first time in the history of Hudson Lodge that three generations of
one family have been Worshipful Masters of this Lodge.
December 6, 1999: The Lodge allocated funds for the Christmas Basket to help a family in need.
January 3, 2000: W.M. Richard Amlung reported that 32 units of blood were collected in December
when the blood mobile was at the Lodge. This exceeded the goal that had been set by the Red
February 7, 2000: W.B. James Rumsey presented W.M. Richard Amlung with a pin that W.M.
Richard's grandfather, W.B. Arthur Amlung, had given him.
June 19, 2000: This was a special meeting called to honor Bro. Paul Martin for his many years of
service to the community as a volunteer fireman and as the Fire Chief. The Worshipful Master
presented him with a special certificate, and W.B. Juris Raudins presented him with a pin -- the
Square & Compasses placed over a Fire Chief's hat. Bro. Martin made a few comments about the
last 30 years, and thanked the Lodge for this honor.
June 30, 2000: Hudson Lodge had 136 members in good standing.
July 3, 2000: It was reported that 17 units of blood were collected at the June blood mobile at
September 11, 2000: W.B. Raudins reported that the little girl to whom we gave the Christmas
Basket, had her foot operated on at the Shrine Hospital in Erie, PA, and that it was a success and
she is doing fine. Also, the secretary read the proposed amendment to the By-Laws, which was
read at the June Stated Meeting, to increase the dues. After a short discussion, a vote was taken,
and the amendment passed.
November 6, 2000: Bro. Richard J. Amlung was elected Worshipful Master.
January 8, 2001: W.B. Raudins informed the Lodge that the little girl who had her foot operated in
August has regained about 70% use of her foot. The doctors at the Shrine Hospital think that
another operation might improve on this number. It was also reported that the Red Cross collected
27 units of blood at the Blood Mobile held at the Lodge in December.
March 26, 2001: This was a special meeting of Hudson Lodge for the annual inspection. The
inspecting officer was R.W. Claud W. Ball. This was also an extra special meeting because the
candidate, Bro. Robert Huener, was initiated in Hudson Lodge in 1966. The day after his initiation,
his company sent him to Holland and elsewhere around the world. He has since returned to
Hudson, and having paid all his fees in 1966, asked if he could continue his journey in
Freemasonry. W.M. Richard Amlung gave him the obligation, the lecture, and the charge of a Fellow
May 7, 2001: This was a special meeting to recognize Bro. Richard Derr. He was placed west of the
altar where Bro. Paul Martin read a long list of achievements and projects that Bro. Derr was either
the instigator, leader, chairman or was in some way involved during his many years in Hudson.
W.M. Richard Amlung then presented Bro. Derr with the Community Builders Award Certificate.
Bro. Derr made a few comments on his many years in Hudson, and the works in which he had a
hand in. He thanked the Lodge on behalf of his wife and himself for the honor bestowed upon him.
May 14, 2001: A Lodge of Master Masons was opened in due form by W.B. James Easterling of the
Scottish Rite, Valley of Akron. The team was dressed in Colonial costumes. W.B. Easterling
announced that this was a special meeting to raise Bro. John Vinson to the Sublime Degree of
Master Mason. All the work was done by members of the A.A.S.R. Valley of Akron.
September 10, 2001: The secretary, W.B. James Amlung, reported that a nice profit was made from
our efforts at the Art on the Green Show, and he thanked all who helped.
November 4, 2001: Bro. Gerry D. Sawyer was elected Worshipful Master.
November 19, 2001: W.M. Gerry Sawyer was presented a gavel by his Brother, R.W. Robert W.
Sawyer IV, and R.W. D.R. Gross, both members of Pioneer Lodge #72 of Ashland, Maine, and
P.D.D.G.Masters of the Grand Lodge of Maine. This gavel was made for and used by the M.W. Grand
Master of Maine, and by R.W. Robert Sawyer, as Junior Grand Warden in the Grand Lodge of Maine.
April 8, 2002: The Investigating Committee reported favorably on seven petitions. The ballot was
spread for each candidate separately, and all were elected to receive the three Degrees of Masonry
at the Grand Master's One-Day Class on April 26, 2002.
November 4, 2002: W.B. Gerry Sawyer was elected again as Worshipful Master.
November 18, 2002: The Hudson Fire Chief, Mr. Robert Carter, was escorted into the Lodge room
and presented with the Community Achievement Award. W.M. Sawyer, on behalf of the Brethren of
Hudson Lodge, thanked the Chief for his service to the community, and also for his persistence in
solving an arson case in the City. The Chief thanked the Brethren of the Lodge, and accepted the
award on behalf of all the members of the Fire and Police Departments.
March 15, 2003: Hudson Lodge had six candidates for the Grand Master's One-Day Class in
April 7, 2003: R.W. Claude W. Ball, D.D.G.M., was elected honorary member of Hudson Lodge.
June 2, 2003: The By-Law change, increasing the annual dues, was passed unanimously. Also, the
W.M. reported that although it was soggy and wet for the Relay for Life project at Hudson High
School track, $419.00 was taken in, with a percentage being donated to the Relay Committee.
July 21, 2003: The City of Hudson was devastated by a severe thunder storm, which caused
extensive flood damage and two deaths. There was 36 inches of muddy, stinking water inside the
Lodge, which destroyed nearly 100% of the paraphernalia and furniture of the Lodge. The only
things that were saved were the altar bible, the minutes of the Lodge, and the two columns which
were badly damaged. During the next few months, the Grand Lodge and a number of other lodges
throughout the state sent used paraphernalia as replacements for that which was lost. There was
some duplication. The items that were not used, were returned to the Grand Lodge.
September 22, 2003: Due to the flood damage, Hudson Lodge met at the Richfield Masonic Temple.
November 3, 2003: The Stated Meeting and the Annual Meeting of Hudson Lodge were held at the
Cuyahoga Falls Masonic Temple; Hudson Lodge room was not quite ready. Bro. Rolf Oscarsson
was elected Worshipful Master.
November 24, 2003: The Annual Installation of Officers for Hudson Lodge was held at the
Cuyahoga Falls Masonic Temple as Hudson Lodge was still undergoing renovation.
December 1, 2003:The secretary, W.B. James Amlung, informed the Lodge that a nice sum of
money had been received from some 50-year members to help with the renovation after the flood.
The secretary was also given the authority to purchase new jewels for the officers.
January 5, 2004: W.B. Juris Raudins reported that the Christmas Basket went to the same family as
last year, and that the girl with the club foot received a sled, jeans, a hat and gloves. Also, W.B.
James Amlung thanked the brethren for the food that has been brought to him and his family after
the recent loss of his wife.
February 2, 2004: The secretary reported that the officers' aprons, which were given to Hudson
Lodge by a Lodge that had merged with another, are in good condition and should be cleaned. A
thank you letter will be sent to Amos H. Englebeck Lodge #751 for the used altar that they sent to
April 5, 2004: The secretary, W.B. James Amlung, stated that it is impossible to thank everyone and
every Lodge that came to the assistance of Hudson Lodge after the flood, but a letter of thanks was
sent to the Grand Secretary. Also, W.M. Rolf Oscarsson reported that the Temple Corporation was
being sued in the Court of Common Pleas of Summit County by Environmental Construction, Inc.
He stated that the matter had been turned over to our attorney, Bro. Tim Nackowicz. Bro.
Nackowicz answered the court summons, and requested a jury trial.
May 3, 2004: W.Bs. Richard and James Amlung brought in the new robes for the second section of
the Master Mason Degree, and demonstrated them for the brethren. They informed the Lodge that
more robes were on the way, and that they were size extra stout so that they would fit most of our
members. Also, more paraphernalia was on the way.
June 30, 2004: Hudson Lodge had 130 members in good standing.
November 1, 2004: Bro. John Vinson was elected Worshipful Master.
December 6, 2004: Hudson Lodge voted to send a per capita donation to Craftsmen's Park. The
Lodge also allocated funds for the Christmas Basket project.
January 3, 2005: W.B. Oscarsson moved that the Lodge purchase an Endowed Membership and
present it to Bro. Tim Nackowicz for the legal work and outstanding job he has done on behalf of
the Lodge in the aftermath of the 2003 flood. The motion was passed unanimously. Also, W.B.
Richard Amlung presented the Lodge with beautifully framed copies of the Constitution and the
Declaration of Independence on behalf of the Tyler, Bro. Ted Smith.
February 2, 2005: The Tyler, Bro. Ted Smith, presented the Lodge with a copy of the Ten
Commandments to go along with the copies of the Constitution and the Declaration of
June 30, 2005: Hudson Lodge had 129 members in good standing.
October 3, 2005: The Worshipful Master informed the brethren that W.B. Richard Amlung received
the Legion of Honor from the Order of DeMolay in Cleveland.
November 7, 2005: W.B. John Vinson was elected Worshipful Master.
December 5, 2005: Hudson Lodge sent a per capita donation to Craftsmen's Park. Also, W.B.
Raudins was asked to be in charge of our Christmas Basket program; he accepted.
April 23, 2006: Hudson Lodge held an Open House and Friendship Night for the citizens of Hudson
for the purpose of presenting the Community Builders Award to Mrs. Mary Lou Morse for her many
years of service to the Hudson community through the Hudson Community Service Association.
An overview of Freemasonry was presented. Then Bro. William DeBlaey introduced the police
officers from Bainbridge and South Euclid Police Department's Canine Units, who gave
demonstrations on how the canine units work.
June 30, 2006: Hudson Lodge had 123 members in good standing.
October 2, 2006: The Ancient Charges were read, as required.
November 6, 2006: W.B. John Vinson was elected Worshipful Master for the third consecutive year.
December 4, 2006: The Lodge allocated funds for the Christmas Basket project.
April 2, 2007: Hudson Lodge sent a donation to support the Special Olympics.
May 7, 2007: Bro. Robert Rerica, a newly raised Master Mason, presented the Lodge with its own
song, which he composed and copyrighted, and which he played on his mandolin. The song is
titled, "Square and Compass."
June 4, 2007: The Lodge allocated funds for the High School scholarship which was to be awarded
later in the month.
June 30, 2007: Hudson Lodge had 118 members in good standing.
September 10, 2007: W.B. Juris Raudins moved that the $275 collected at the Art on the Green, in
August, for flood relief, be sent to a lodge in western Ohio to assist in their rebuilding. A check was
sent to Ottawa Lodge #325 in the said amount.
November 5, 2007: Bro. William DeBlaey was elected Worshipful Master. Also, W.B. Raudins again
was asked to take care of the Christmas Basket project, and was given the appropriate funds to do
March 30, 2008: Several brethren of Hudson Lodge took advantage of the opportunity to attend the
Cavaliers vs. 76ers basketball game in downtown Cleveland. Bro. J. Trimble provided the tickets,
whereby we sat in a private box, loge, and were served food and refreshments. Great evening.
April 26, 2008: Hudson Lodge presented the Community Builders Award to Robert Swedenborg for
his years of teaching and involvement with the Hudson Library & Historical Society.
May 5, 2008: Hudson Lodge sent a donation to the Special Olympics.
May 23, 2008: The Lodge held an Open House to salute the veterans. The program for the evening
was "The Battle of Midway," and was given by our own Bro. Gordon Simon.
June 30, 2008: Hudson Lodge had 113 members in good standing.
October 6, 2008: Hudson Lodge was informed that it had earned the Grand Master's Award for
2008. Also, W.M. DeBlaey thanked W.B. Kilroy for his fine work in restoring the altar. Hudson Lodge
"passed the hat" to support the Masonic Assistance Program for Christmas food baskets.
November 3, 2008: Bro. Jonathan B. Trimble was elected Worshipful Master.
January 5, 2009: W.B. Raudins reported on the Christmas Basket project. This year he did not
spend all the money that was allocated.
March 2, 2009: W.B. Raudins noted that the aprons worn by the ruffians were destroyed in the
flood. He presented the Lodge with three new aprons that were made by his wife. Also, on display
and mounted on the wall was a wooden representation of "A Point Within the Circle," made by W.B.
Raudins. This is in conformity with our ritual.
May 4, 2009: Hudson Lodge sent a donation to the Special Olympics.
May 23, 2009: Hudson Lodge held an evening program titled "Salute to the Veterans." Bro. Gordon
Simon gave a very impressive talk about The Battle of the Aleutian Islands.
June 1, 2009: W.B. Gerry Sawyer presented the Lodge's scholarship to a deserving student at the
Hudson High School awards night.
June 30, 2009: Hudson Lodge had 117 members in good standing.
September 14, 2009: The secretary informed the brethren that a nice profit was made at Art on the
Green. Also, that 24 units of blood were collected at the Blood Mobine in June. Then, pictures of a
proposed pin, representing Hudson Lodge and Hudson, were passed around, and one was
October 5, 2009: The brethren were informed that W.B. Richard Amlung has been elected to the
York Rite Grand Line.
November 2, 2009: Bro. Gary Foldessy was elected Worshipful Master.
December 7, 2009: The Lodge allocated funds for the Christmas Basket project, and for the
April 5, 2010: Worshipful Brothers Raudins, DeBlaey, and Vinson donated two refurbished
pedestals to the Lodge to be used at the Senior Warden and Junior Warden stations.
July 31, 2010: Hudson Lodge had 120 members in good standing.
November 1, 2010: W.B. Gary Foldessy was elected Worshipful Master. Also, W.B. Raudins
announced that Acme Supermarkets are offering a 5% Cash Back program to non-profit
organizations. During a 3-month period, we need to collect Acme receipts. At the bottom of the
receipt will be a Cash Back dollar amount, and at the end of the designated time period, the
participating organization will receive 5% of the total amount from all receipts collected. The Lodge
decided to participate.
December 6, 2010: The Lodge allocated funds for the local Christmas Basket project, and the
Holiday Walk committee reported that they had made a small profit from the sale of hot chocolate.
January 3, 2011: The brethren were reminded that the Lodge is participating in the Acme Cash
Back program, and to turn in their receipts to W.B. Rauidins.
March 12, 2011: R.W. Bro. Turner, D.D.G.M., announced that Hudson Lodge had, once again,
earned the Grand Master's Award.
April 4, 2011: W.B. Raudins announced that the Lodge had earned a small amount by participating
in the Acme Cash Back program.
June 2, 2011: Hudson Lodge, again, participated in the Memorial Day Parade by having a food
stand, and by members driving their special cars. Also, W.B. John Vinson presented the Lodge
with a beautifully framed "map" of the Masonic appendant bodies.
September 12, 2011: The Lodge approved monies for a new roof.
November 7, 2011: Bro. John Garvin was elected Worshipful Master, and money was allocated for
the Lodge's Christmas Basket project.
December 5, 2011: The Holiday Walk Committee reported a small profit from sales of hot chocolate
March 5, 2012: A half-scale model of the District's Traveling Gavel was presented to W.B. Gary
Foldessy by Past Masters Raudins, Vinson, and DeBlaey and current Master Garvin. This was to
recognize W.B. Foldessy for overseeing Hudson's travels during the inspection seasons for the
last five years. Through his efforts, Hudson Lodge, one of the smallest lodges in the 21st District,
won the District's Traveling Gavel five consecutive years! Unprecidented!
May 28, 2012: Hudson Lodge participated in the Memorial Day parade, again. A small profit was
made from selling hot dogs.
June 4, 2012: The Lodge voted to increase the annual dues.
September 10, 2012: W.B. Raudins presented the Worshipful Master, John Garvin, with a vintage
1940s gavel, used by a former Master. The gavel had been recondioned, and engraved with John
Garvin's name on the handle. (The Worshipful Master had labored in the East for the past nine
months without a gavel of his own. That oversight was corrected.)
November 5, 2012: Bro. Jacob A. Jackson was elected Worshipful Master. Also, W.B. Richard
Amlung made a motion that Hudson Lodge take over the assembly of Christmas Food Baskets for
the Masonic Assistance Program (MAP). (SLOA will continue to work with the Scottish Rite to
identify recipients, and continue the delivery of the baskets.) The motion was approved
unanimously. Then, it was decided that the Lodge present W.M. Garvin with a Past Master's Jewel
at the December stated meeting. (W.B. Raudins found a nice vintage jewel at a very reasonable
price, and Bro. Bill Koke, a jeweler, donated the engraving.)
December 3, 2012: The Lodge allocated funds for our local Christmas Basket project, and for the
widows' gifts. Then, W. Bros. DeBlaey, Raudins, and Vinson presented the Lodge with a set of
walnut gavels to be used by the Worshipful Master, Senior Warden, and Junior Warden. Also, the
Holiday Walk committee reported a small profit.
January 7, 2013: W.B. Raudins reported on the Lodge's adopted family at Christmas.
February 25, 2013: W.B. Raudins reported that the Lodge earned a fair amount as a result of the
Acme Cash Back program.
March 4, 2013: The Lodge "passed the hat" for W.B. Potter to help save him from eviction from his
family home. A letter, with $150, was sent to his granddaughter in southern Ohio.
April 1, 2013: The Lodge sent a per capita donation to the Special Olympics.
May 6, 2013: The Lodge was in need of a new set of slides for the Master Mason degree. Bro. Bob
Hoffstetter volunteered to purchase them. Also, W.B. DeBlaey volunteered to pay for a new setting
June 3, 2013: It was announced that W. M. Jackson presented the Lodge's scholarship to a
deserving student at the Hudson High School awards night. Also, Hudson Lodge participated in
the Memorial Day parade -- some drove cars, some sold hot dogs. The Ancient Charges were read,
June 29, 2013: M.W. Bro. James F. Easterling, Jr., Grand Master of Masons in Ohio, attended
Hudson's annual inspection.
August 1, 2013: Hudson Lodge had 114 members in good standing.
September 9, 2013: It was announced that W.B. Potter's home was saved. (Hudson Lodge had sent
October 7, 2013: The Lodge "passed the hat" for the Masonic Assistance Program (MAP). Then, the
brethren were reminded that the Acme Cash Back program had started again. Also, monies were
allocated for our local Christmas Basket project, and for buying gifts for our widows.
November 4, 2013: Bro. Alex Herbert was elected Worshipful Master. Then, W.B. Raudins presented
the outgoing Master, Jacob Jackson, with a cherry plaque, on which was a casting of all the
working tools of a Master Mason.
December 2, 2013: The idea of Hudson Lodge having its own pin, for brethren to wear on the lapel,
had been discussed for years; the most recent being four years ago. So, during the past summer,
W.B. Raudins looked at some of the designs that had been proposed in the past, picked one that
represented Hudson, and had 500 pins made. Tonight, W.B. Raudins and W.B. Vinson presented
the pins to the Lodge. The pin is the Hudson clocktower, with the Square & Compasses on the
side, and the hands of the clock are at ten minutes past five, 5:10. W.B. Vinson mailed out pins, with
donation letters, to brethren living far from Hudson. Donations in excess of the cost of the pins will
become part of fund raising.
January 6, 2014: The stated meeting was delayed a week because the temperature was -11
March 3, 2014: A letter from the Summit County Prosecutor was read, praising Hudson Lodge for
its good work with the Masonic Assistance Program at Christmas.
April 7, 2014: It was reported that the Lodge earned a fair amount from the Acme Cash Back
June 2, 2014: W.B. Vinson reported that the Lodge's pin had generated a profit of $855.
July 31, 2014: Hudson Lodge had 110 members in good standing.
September 8, 2014: A delayed report on the Memorial Day parade showed a small profit. The Lodge
also participated in Hudson's Art on the Green.
November 3, 2014: Bro. Jeffrey M. Winters was elected Worshipful Master. Also, the brethren were
reminded to collect Acme receipts for the Acme Cash Back program.
December 1, 2014: Funds were allocated for the local Christmas Basket project, and for the
March 2, 2015: It was reported that the Lodge earned a small amount from the Acme Community
Cash Back program.
April 6, 2015: This was awards night for Hudson Lodge. The most notable award went to Bro. Burt
Williams, a 65-year pin. Later, R.W. Bro. Stephen A. Colton, P.D.D.G.M., was made an honorary
member of Hudson Lodge.
May 4, 2015: M.W. Bro. James Easterling, Jr., P.G.M., was made an honorary member of Hudson
Lodge, and was presented a blue, vintage, Masonic desk clock by W.M. Winters.
June 1, 2015: It was announced that our scholarship had been awarded to a deserving Hudson
High School student. Also, the Lodge participated in the Memorial Day Parade.
July 31, 2015: Hudson Lodge had 100 members in good standing.
September 14, 2015: The Lodge made a nice profit at Art on the Green. It was reported that Hudson
Lodge had earned three awards this year: (1) We won the Traveling Gavel, again; (2) Award for
Lodge Education, from the Grand Lodge; and (3) an Award for a Perfect Degree, from SLOA, for
best degree at inspection this year.
November 2, 2015: W.B. Alex Herbert was elected Worshipful Master. The Lodge allocated funds for
our local Christmas Basket project, as well as for buying gifts for our widows. Also, the brethren
were reminded about the Acme Cash Back program.
To Be Continued